In many countries today, people in cities either live alone or in small family units, rather than in large, extended family groups. Is this a positive or negative trend?

The emergence of single-person households and nuclear families over large, extended families is a dominant trend all over the world nowadays. I strongly believe this is a negative development.

The trend of decreasing family size signifies the weakening of the traditional family support network, and this development can negatively impact children while they’re growing up. Parents living alone of in a nuclear family can feel immense stress when taking care of a child, not only mentally but financially as well. Not having grandparents or older relatives to help with taking care of children, parents have to often turn to nannies, babysitters, or after-school clubs to take care of their younger children, while older children may be left by themselves after school and during holidays. This lack of adult influence results in friends, the internet, and television becoming the primary influences on children’s behaviour which has been linked to a rise in psychological and behavioural problems among the young.

In addition to this, living alone can be a cause of negative psychological effects because of reduced human interaction. People living by themselves have no one to talk to at home, so sharing problems or expressing emotion becomes difficult. Much needed human interaction, which is aplenty in a large family, is hence replaced by passive distractions such as video games, television, online social activities, or surfing the internet. Living such a lifestyle is associated with high levels of boredom, loneliness, and feelings of isolation all of which are factors that are linked with an increased risk of mental illness.

To conclude, in my opinion, this trend of rise in nuclear families or living alone is worrying as people flourish in large family groups.