Genetic engineering is an important issue in society today. Some people think that it will improve people’s lives in many ways. Others feel that it may be a threat to life on earth. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, genetic engineering has emerged as an important topic of debate. While this technique may have certain negative implications, I believe it will largely be a boon to the average quality of human life.

Our species’ capability to use tools and techniques to its advantage has been one of the major factors for its advancement, and genetic engineering has the potential to be the most advantageous tool yet. For instance, by using genetic engineering, we have been able to introduce a resistance into the genetic profile of a plant allowing it to mature into a crop without additives. In addition, we have also been able to speed up the maturation of an organism such as a plant or an animal. Both these aspects allow us to produce food on a larger scale, offering a solution to our food demands. Additionally, genetic engineering offers the potential to altogether remove life threatening diseases in a child before it is born, potentially eliminating hereditary diseases like Alzheimer’s, and various heart diseases plaguing generations.

On the other hand, however, genetic engineering can possibly be a threat to life on earth. Just the way crops can be genetically altered to become resistant to diseases, the diseases causing pathogens, due to natural evolution, have the potential to develop a resistance to the induced resistance, thus evolving into a stronger, more dangerous disease which will be harder to cure. Moreover, with genetic engineering possibly unlocking control over a child’s gender, parts of the world could end up facing a serious social issue. There are still regions in the world, like parts of China and India, where a boy child is preferred over a girl child and genetic engineering would simply be replacing a vice such as female infanticide with gender alteration at birth.

To conclude, while genetic engineering has the potential to create problems for life on earth, I believe it will remain a tool for us to improve the quality of our lives significantly.