Many elderly people are no longer looked after by their families and are put in care homes or nursing homes. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

The relative pros and cons of the increasing trend of sending old-aged people in care homes, is a matter of debate. While this trend is beneficial to some extent, I would argue that its disadvantages are more significant.

Many of the families are in favour of putting the elderly people in old age homes as most of the young family members are working now-a-days. so, they have no time left to take care of their elderly parents due to busy daily schedules. Another reason to support this trend is the level of care given by the trained employees of nursing homes to old-aged people as per their needs. This is sometimes not possible at home due lack of knowledge in family members about geriatric issues.

Inspite of all these advantages, the elderly people staying in these nursing care homes are not happy from heart. The reason being that old-aged people always wish to be taken care of by their own family members. They have nurtured their children being parents and expect same in return from them in last years of their life. Also, it has been stated by many psychologists that elderly people stay more healthy when surrounded by their family members. Another drawback is the financial burden on family to fulfill the expenses of old-age homes.

In conclusion, although there are many advantages of putting elderly people in care homes, the disadvantages overshadow them.