It is commonly believed that nowadays main factors that affect a child's development are media, pop culture and friends. A different point of view is that family plays the most significant role.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is not even an iota of doubt that children are the backbone of a country and their development is crucial. Therefore, many a person opines that media, pop culture and peers have a negative impact on the child's mental growth; however, others hold a contrasting perception denoting that parents play a key role. I hold the same school of thought, that family is the most important aspect for a child’s development.

On the one hand, the increasing influence of media and pop culture into our lives has had a negative impact on children. To explain this, due to the development of technology, media and pop culture are readily available to a child these days and children are not able to sift out inappropriate information from it. In other words, this information obtained from the media or friends is shaping children's minds in the wrong direction. For example, American Pediatric Association in a weekly journal said that nowadays there are certain toy ads that are made specifically for children. Should these advertisements are be shown to them, they would force their parents into buying them. Therefore, children should avoid the use of media and learn more from books than pop culture references. At a very young age, a child tends to spend most of his time with parents and it becomes the responsibility of them to inculcate adequate ethics in them. The more good values are imparted, the better holistic growth an offspring gets

On the other hand, a child in his early days of life is malleable and acquires the habits and behaviors of their progenitors. To be precise, it is the family that helps in the development of behavior and instills their conventions into children which benefit the child later in life. In other words, these conventions and rituals help them behave in a way which is both advantageous for them and also the society. Sir Henry Osborn, a famous novelist, said that “mother is the first school of a child where he learns the basic instincts for survival. Hence, family is undoubtedly the most important factor for a child’s future. At a very young age, a child tends to spend most of his time with parents and it becomes the responsibility of them to inculcate adequate ethics in them. The more good values are imparted, the better holistic growth an offspring gets.

All in all to conclude, having said that, although, pop culture, media and friends are responsible for the development of a child to a certain degree, I believe that families are where they should learn the way of life for a better future. I hope that these media sources meant to destroy a child's mental development had better be stopped.