Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more important for a university to have advanced facilities rather than hire more famous teachers.

Our society invests more and more money in education, so you may notice that in many schools, equipment and facilities have been expanded and upgraded. Admittedly, improving facilities seems fairer because they can used by everyone while a good teacher cannot teach all the students. In my opinion, however, teachers are much more important than facilities, and we should spend more money on hiring good teachers rather than buying advanced equipment.

First of all, improving the facilities will bring financial burden to both schools and students. To buy better equipment, schools need a large sum of money, but not all schools can afford. So schools, especially the private ones, will choose to cover the spending by raising tuition fee. In other words, parents and students will have to pay the bill, increasing their financial pressure. Sometimes this will damage the reputation of a school, because families who are not rich enough may complain that the high cost violates equality in education. Besides, every few years, schools need a large sum of money to maintain their equipment, such as computers and laboratory instruments. The more equipment schools buy, the more money is needed, and this amount of money may be more than the money for salaries of good teachers.

Secondly, even if a school can afford the expenditure by itself, such advanced equipment and facilities may not be used in the right way without instruction from good teachers. If not given an assignment, most of the students are more willing to chat with their friends after class rather than reading a book in library or doing experiment in lab. And sometimes, students may feel discouraged that although they want to learn by themselves, they don’t know how to. Therefore, hiring famous teachers is more desirable, because good teachers can not only motivate their students but also teach them how to learn effectively with the new equipment.

Moreover, the quality of education is depended on teacher, not on equipment. Famous teachers have deep understanding of education and are good at teaching. With their experience in education, famous teachers can nurture good students without advanced facilities and equipment. They can make an abstract idea clear by giving simple examples from daily life; they can show how the universe works by drawing some pictures; they can improve our thinking ability by asking questions in different aspects.

All in all, after what I have analyzed previously, I can safely conclude that equipment and facilities are important, but teachers play a more essential role, so schools should focus on hiring some famous teachers rather than improving their facilities.