Some people think most crimes are the result of circumstances like poverty and other social problems. Others believe that they are caused by people who are bad in nature. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Promoting peace have become a heated topic because although we are free from wars, in our life there are still dangers such as suicide bombing, robbery, and murder. And nowadays, to improve the situation, an increasing number of people begin to concern about crimes. However, people may have disagreement on what accounts for crimes.

The reasons for people to support crimes are results of social problems vary. Some of them consider that poverty, the primary social problem in developing countries, leads people to commit crimes. In these impoverished regions, people hardly get employed and earn a living, because few jobs are available. As a result, these people have to rob others of money and food to survive. In addition, others may hold the idea that the unfairness of society also results in breaking the law. It might once be seen in newspapers that some of the privileged or the well-off bribe the judge and avoid conviction after they commit murder or rape. Feeling unfair to the judgment, therefore, the victims or their families assault and even kill the wrongdoer. In such cases, it is difficult to consider that people commit crimes because of their evil nature.

In contrast, proponents of born criminals think that people with certain character are potential culprits even if they do not suffer from financial problems. For example, some egoistic people have little capacity for empathy, so if others do not obey them or they cannot gain what they desire, they will use violence. Some lazy people do not want to earn a living with efforts, so they are prone to steal or defraud. Besides, the influence of gene is another consideration for these advocates. They cite that the structure of brains will affect our behaviors and some criminal behaviors are blamed on brain abnormalities. For instance, people whose prefrontal cortex do not function normally may find it difficult to control impulsive emotions, thus carrying a high risk of aggressive behavior.

In my opinion, social problems may play a more essential role in crimes because they are the inducement for people to show their evil nature. If everyone has good living condition and can be treated fairly, even the so-called born criminals will choose to enjoy a peaceful life.