In many country around the world life expectancy is increasing.

Do the advantages outweigh disadvantages?

It is a fact that people are expected to live longer on a worldwide scale, which raises alert for potential issues, but brings in benefits at the same time. Whilst I agree with the latter outcome, I opine that the negative side outweighs the opposite one.

The adverse ramifications of lifespan extension are discussed in two aspects relating to the after-middle-age illnesses and overpopulation. Firstly, as more people live to old age, they are likely to suffer from acutely chronic diseases such as Alzheimer, the blurry vision,...given that the immune system deteriorates by the time. Consequently, not only their lives have high chances to be miserable but also, they could become the burden of the health care system and their families. Secondly, the population ageing leads to the more land and welfare occupied by people who are unable to contribute to the society, or the economy. By the time, the residential facilities, resources and merchandise will no longer meet the increasing demands.

Looking on a brighter side, the two major advantageous impacts of lengthened lifetime are advices for the youth and the expansion of workforce. Aged people might pass down to the posterity wisdom from ages of living that can shorten the path to success of the younger generation. However, the day by day advance is turning some conventional wisdom into behind-the-time understandings. The partly conservative patriarchies in remote Asian areas exemplify that. From a capitalist perspective, less people passing away results in more workers to be exploited. Despite being able to recruit more labors, the fact that a large number of them has already been over the working age and their states of health in this regard might cause the plans to backfire.

To conclude, after weighing both sides, I’m convinced that the disadvantages of living longer is outweighed by the advantages.