Many doctors recommend that older people exercise regularly, but most patients do not follow an exercise routine.

Why do you think this happens?

How can people be encouraged to exercise regularly?

Adopting a regular fitness regime is advisable to the elderly by the majority of medical practitioners. Nonetheless, a minority of patients are recorded to follow the doctrine. I contend that there are several underlying factors involved in this procrastination and some measures could be suggested to alleviate the situation.

Potentially, this phenomenon could be justified by a variety of explanations, chief of which is the physical limits for participating in activities that are included in the treatment regimen. In terms of the senior residents, activities such as socializing for the fundamental demand to avoid loneliness, taking care of the offspring while their parents are at work or cultivating bonsai tend to occupy most of their retirement ages. Yet, most of them are incapable of integrating different tasks to accomplish at the same time simply out of their physique capabilities, and in turn, they will weigh more on personal preferences. Hence, the idea to adjust their daily routines for physical exercises is not always feasible as the elderly nervous system functions based on a limited capacity of memorizing, they may not be conscious about changes but the familiar schedule.

On the other hand, the most viable solution to raise public health awareness and keeping fit is to execute the provision of public sports facilities. For one, not only the accessibility for senior citizens is increased but also youngsters are the beneficiaries given the opportunities for training and participating under a spiritual environment. The gap between generations is eliminated and people immerse in the joy and pleasure of practicing team sports such as badminton and shuttlecock. Such projects should be implemented widely owing to the fact that certain rural areas do not have access to those amenities. By doing so, social equality could be promoted and general public health could be tremendously ameliorated.

To conclude, there are excuses for the procrastinated fitness programme of senior residents. Steps should be taken immediately to ensure individuals’ physical well-being in accordance with equal accessibility to sports facilities.