Many elderly peopleare no longer looked after by their families but are put in care homes or nursing homes. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

It is true that nursing homes have become a popular choice in caring elderly people. In this essay, I will analyse both upsides and downsides of this form.

On the one hand, I am convinced that the benefits of living care homes are obvious. One compelling point is that these facilities provide expert medical attention, we are no longer concerned about proper nutrition for optimal health of our loved one. For example, it's important to have a proper menu which can not only constrain carbs but also provide enough calories for diabetes people and the ingredients are calculated exactly by nutritionists. Furthermore, there are trained staff who supply consistent full-time support and around-the-clock care, so that the oldster can set aside safety worries and enjoy their life with social activities celebrated annually in care homes. Another advantage of the facilities is that it can decrease time, resource and demands on family members who are in the hustle and bustle or do not provide enough conditions to look after their relatives.

However, nursing homes certainly have some major drawbacks, the first downside in the expenses, many people can not afford to pay for constant care which may affect to quality of caring homes when they choose facilities with low standards and sub-quality care. You have to be careful about where you place your loved one. According to The Guardian's Cost of Care Survey, on average in HCM city, the average annually costs of nursing homes care being between $250 - $500 per month, this become a subsistence burden for family members. Moreover, there is not always a facility near your home, you also spend more expenses to travel long distances to visit your relatives. The second downside is dependence on an individual's condition. Nursing homes can increase a sense of isolation and loneliness because the elderly almost be always surround by people of their age and there are also rules that can be strict to ensure the best condition of life for them.

In conclusion, care homes offer great benefits as well as drawbacks and people can choose carefully what kind of looking after their loved one based on their condition they have.