With the rise of ebooks comes the decline in paper books. Some people see this as a good forward step while others do not. What are advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

With the advance of phones, tablets and readers, ebooks have become a popular reading standard in recent years. In this essay, I will analyze both the disadvantages and advantages of this trend.

On the one hand, ebooks may have some major drawbacks, the first downside is the technical limits that readers may have, which may reduce the effectiveness of reading. For example, the elderly may find it hard to understand and make sure of latest technical equipment and software, while other readers may lose all libraries of ebooks due to virus attacks. The second disadvantage is the lack of touching and feeling interaction as reading printed books which are considered as the heady experiences that a book lover is very attached to. The beauty of the intangible is a real pleasure of reading a printed book that can not be replaced by a reader or handheld devices.

However, I am convinced that the benefits of ebooks are more significant. Compared to paper books, those solved the biggest problem of storage space, printed books are bulky, heavy and difficult to carry, store or even maintain. Then come in digital readers, ebooks can be read practically anywhere and it is easy to have our libraries at hand for whenever there is some waiting-to-do. Another advantage of digital books is that they are almost always cheaper than printed books. This is because it does not spend the printing expenses. Additionally, it is extremely environment-friendly and does away with cutting down hundreds of trees for a single publication.

In conclusion, digital books offer great benefits as well as downsides and people can choose whatever kind of books they are almost interested in reading.