Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There is not even an iota of doubt that students are the future of this world and their education plays a major role in maintaining the fabric of the society. Therefore, many a person opines that universities should allow students to pursue only subjects like science and technology which would be beneficial for them in the future; however, a few others believe that they ought to study whatever they please. I hold the same school of thought that students had better be given the freedom to choose subjects of their liking.

On the one hand, with the ever-increasing progress in the field of science some echelon of the society believe that this is what the students should be studying rather than other subjects. This is because science and technology is not only helping in the prosperity of the world, but also is a high paying profession. In other words, the more the students take up this line of work on the pretence of income, the better it is for the development in this field, as certainly more people will be required in the future. For example, Elon Musk the founder of Tesla in 2018, started a program in universities where he hired academically gifted students in the field of science and technology and paid them high salaries, which spiked the admissions in those subjects by 12%. Hence, it would be beneficial for the students as well as the companies if more pupils were to study science. However, every person is notattaracted towards income, and some join their respective professions out of sheer love.

On the other hand, some proponents believe that university students should be allowed to study the subjects they love. To be precise, should a student pursue the subject he is intrigued by, it is highly likely that he would excel beyond measures. In other words, if an individual is happy and content in what he is doing, it would lead him to achieve work-life balance and mental stability. According to a survey conducted by The Hindu, in 2010, students who chose the subject of their liking, even though being paid less than their counterparts of science were happy with what they were doing. Moreover, this world is a hub of different professions and each profession holds an equal importance.

To reiterate, having said that, although, science and technology may be progressing rapidly and more students should be focused on its development as it is an essential part of the future. I opine that all the other subjects have the same value and universities had better be unbiased towards the students in choosing a career for them.