Many governments have laws that ban the sale and use of hard drugs such as heroin and cocaine, yet they allow people to buy drugs such as tobacco and alcohol. Laws that prohibit the sale and use of hard drugs should be applied to all drugs, including tobacco and alcohol.

What is your opinion?

Nowadays, the habits of smoking and alcohol consumption have become more widespread among the population despite the negative impacts they have on physical and mental health. It is argued that laws proscribing the use and possession of drugs should also involve cigarettes and alcoholic beverages. I completely agree with this idea.

Firstly, smoking cigarettes can have adverse effects on the body leading to life-threatening complications. It is certain that tobacco and nicotine are the main causative factors of various cancer types including lung cancer, urinary bladder cancer and ovarian cancer. Over the past decade, cases of lung cancer have significantly increased around the world, and 9 out of 10 cases are linked to smoking. In addition, secondhand smoke exposure can occur when children or adults inhale what’s being exhaled by active smokers. Consequently, asthma attacks are exacerbated and passive smokers are usually at risk of a large number of respiratory diseases. Therefore, implementing smoking bans could be beneficial in protecting nonsmokers from the side effects of secondhand smoking, reducing the costs of medical treatments and lowering the mortality rate.

Another point to consider is that alcohol consumption and smoking can cause permanent brain damage. They are known to be addictive and have psychological side effects including, depression and anxiety. As a result, they can disrupt mental functions and lead to less productivity at the workplace or decreased academic achievements among people. Additionally, traffic crash fatalities in the United States involve a large number of drunk drivers. Furthermore, it is common nowadays for teenagers to resort to substance use as a way of rebelling and showing independence because they lack emotional strength. Hence, the prohibition of alcoholic and tobacco products can lead to the betterment of social and mental health around us and save countless lives from car accidents.

In conclusion, I believe that proscribing the production and selling of alcoholic beverages and cigarette packets would lower the number of health problems, treatment costs and car accidents related to them, and improve the physical and mental health of teenagers and adults.