Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The prime responsibility of a government is to serve its citizens in the best possible way. The majority of administrations around the globe think that their top priority should be economic development, while some people are of the opinion that other types of progress should not be overlooked. This essay will shed light on both these viewpoints.

First of all, the idea that governments need to be more focused on their financial achievements has its own merits. We live in a society that functions on money. It is required for everything, from schools and hospitals to defense purposes. Furthermore, if a leadership wants to improve the living standards of its subjects, first key step is to achieve economic development. It is evident from the reports published by the World Bank that nations with low per ca-pita income enjoy lesser prosperity that others. So a government that plans to turn around its people's lives has to inevitably focus on economic progress.

Secondly, some scholars suggest that other types of developments should not be forgone. The most important of which is education. It is a sort of building block that helps lay the foundation of a great civilization and culture. Without it, we cannot ever imagine a viable workforce that will steer the country towards the path of salvation from t he grips of poverty and disparity. Economy experts have realized this fact and included education into the equation that measure the human development of a state, called Human Development Index. Nations with high score observe more wealth and happiness than those with low ratings. In short, education along with other fields must also be on top of the agenda of governments.

The conclusion that we arrive at is that economy as well as other departments, such as education are all crucial for the advancement of a nation. But what do I personally prefer? It has to be good quality learning opportunities for the public.