Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal Some people however think that other types of progress are equally important for a country Discuss both views and give your own opinion

Recently, the phenomenon of economic progress and its corresponding impacts have sparked a long-running controversy or discourse between governments and people. In this regard, whereas some of the leaders believe that economic development is the main priority, others are the opinion that not only economic backwardness but also social injustice and political oppression cannot be overlooked. In my mind, economic improvement plays a significant role, due to its fundamental role.

On the one hand, focusing on the economic development while improving military power in the region that the country is housed, is the characteristic of the leaders that underestimate their peoples’ right to experience a normal life. Hence, citizens are deprived of national wealth’s benefits, by investing in other budget segmentations. To give an instance, full of natural resources and well-educated people, Iran was one of the major economic power in the middle-east. However, investing in empowering Arab regions’ military as well as accessing nuclear power has rendered major economic backwardness in two recent decades. Therefore, many Iranians claim their rights, including but not limited to social rights, freedom, so on and so forth besides a better financial situation with less inflation.

On the other hand, many governors or economists are firmly convinced that without a progressive economy their political position cannot remain stable against their counterparts. In a similar vein, research concludes that the wealth grade of a person signals his or her power and social status. Furthermore, without a progressive economic government cannot allocate the required financial resources in other budget sectors, namely, healthcare, Medicare, Medicaid, insurance, public transport, education, academic research, etc.

To sum up, despite the compelling reasons of both sides, I opt to vigorously support the idea of focusing on economic development would have more benefits in a long-term plan, however, its drawbacks cannot be overlooked especially in less-developed countries that human rights cannot be neglected easily by the rulers.