Some people believe that it is the responsibility of individuals to take care of their own health and diet. Others, however, believe that governments should make sure that their citizens have a healthy diet. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Recently, the phenomena of healthcare, diet and their corresponding impacts on both individuals and societies have sparked a long-running dispute among different groups, especially human activists and governments. In this regard, whereas some believe it is the mere responsibility of governments to spread the healthy culture of diet, others are the opinion of taking care of their health and following a healthy consumption are the sole responsibility of an individual. In my mind, a tradeoff between both vantage points might have the most outcome.

On the one hand, it is the firm conviction of many that governments are in charge of healthcare. By that they mean, food, beverage, and pharmaceutical productions should be supervised strictly by governments. Moreover, income tax is nowadays obligatory. Hence, governments have to allocate the required budget to healthcare and insurance segmentation. Furthermore, the patriarchal role of the government cannot be overlooked. Pertinent to this concept, the government should figure out the healthiest possible infrastructure in society, which can increase citizens' awareness.

On the other hand, others who in general might believe more in self-sufficiency and self-reliance believe that every individual is responsible for his or her health condition. To give an instance, they have the required freedom to choose between imported or local manufacturers’ products. Furthermore, they check constantly the nutrition’s fact labels, expiry date as well as surf in related websites, while purchasing products. As a result of that, they can have a better balance of calory consumption. Integration in physical activities is also another feature of this group in order to stay healthier.

To sum up, despite the discussed compelling reasons of both sides, I opt to vigorously support the idea of the citizens-government coalition, which means, governments should provide the required infrastructure in many ways ranging from sports clubs to informative websites in order to increase the society’s self-awareness.