Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Many authorities believe that economic growth is their highest priority. However, others, me included, believe that other progress such as human and environmental should be prioritized equally as well.

Economic improvement leads to higher living standards of its country. By focusing on developing the economy, the governments are to create job opportunities for citizens so that they can earn their living, pay their bills, and have their own savings. Consequently, other sectors can be improved such as the reduction in poverty, healthcare, and incentives for public and private investors. Thus, it can boost the economy even more.

On the other hand, solely focusing on financial growth without considering other factors may lead to adverse ramifications. Firstly, if society is geared toward economic growth, people have to work for longer hours. Subsequently, they might miss out on their leisure time that is a crucial element to boost productivity. Secondly, environmental progress should not be overlooked. Following the rise in the economy, the higher output can lead to increased pollution such as air pollution from factories' smoke, marine pollution from oil spills, and water pollution from chemical disposal. Hence, these pollutions may make a significant reduction in living standards. For instance, according to an economic article, China's break-neck period of economic growth has led to a dramatic increase in CO2 emission from 2 tonnes in 2002 to 8 tonnes in 2014 that is 4 times higher.

In conclusion, the rise in the economy may have many obvious benefits. Yet our world is not just an economic cycle, therefore, factors like humans, the environment should be treated equally as they are important elements to support economic growth.