Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There are different opinions of governments and residents towards what progress is vital for a country. Some governments believe progress involving economics is the most crucial objective, while others say that each type of progress has the same contribution to a nation. This essay will discuss both views before reaching the conclusion that a comprehensive development should be the most important goal.

On the one hand, some governments think that they should focus more on the progress of economics because of its easily seen benefits. To be specific, the development in economics would help to increase the life quality of residents. For instance, people may have more chances to shop for imported products from all around the world such as America, England, France and so on. Besides, a strong and growing economy may overcome obstacles involving pandemic or natural disasters faster and easier than others. Take China as an example, this country is known as one of the most developed economies, and in the Covid-19 pandemic, China used a large percentage of the national budget to help the residents alleviate difficulties. It seems that economic progress has a vital role to a country.

On the other hand, I believe that development in other fields is equally important because economics could not completely solve the problems of the pandemic. Particularly, financial solutions just have benefits in the short-term, so the governments need a progress in medicine to mitigate the spreading of diseases in the long-term. For example, the invention of the vaccine Covid-19 created the herd immunity, which helped to decrease the number of patients. Moreover, economic progress is linked with development in other areas. In more detail, if there is no advance in education, technology, science, culture and so on, a country’s economics could not be developed. In this modernization period, technological progress would help a country catch up with others, so it may have more chances to approach the world’s economics. Clearly, the importance of other types of progress is not less than that of economics.

In conclusion, although some governments think that the most vital objective of their country is development in economics, I am of the view that countries in the world should focus equally on all fields since these have the same role to a nation, also their advantages are offered.