Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Countries development are directly associated with the policies of their governments. While some may argue that the focus should be on the financial sector, others, in which I include myself, consider that other areas as health or environment are equally as important.

First of all, it's impossible to deny the importance that the financial sector have in the development of a nation. If that growth is successful, it can reflect, later on, in others fields as education or health. With increase of income and economic stability, the state can invest more money in building new schools and universities to improve its population education. Moreover, the construction of better renewed hospitals can only be made with investment. Although money is essential, there are other areas that governments should invest their time.

There are several factors that contribute for the growth of a country. The health care system is is one of the main areas of focus in a developed society, as well as, the environmental policies that must be changed in order to prevent climate change. First of all, since most of the cities in the world have an increasing older population, the heath department must be a priority to provide answers, to the higher incidence of pathologies in this age group. Furthermore, with pollution increasing and it's impact on climate, nowadays is crucial to change some key points, to a greener future, as for example, reducing taxes in electric cars. These are just some reasons, that other factors have to be present when one is considering the progress of a country.

To conclude, there is no denying of the major importance of economic stability but when it is analysed the progress of a specific country, there must be other fields taken into account, as the heath care system and environmental policies. I also should add that if all these areas are balanced properly, the formula for success maybe more easily reached.