Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugars, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

The consumption of fast food and instant drink, which has detrimental impacts on people’s health, has been drastically increased in order to cope with the fast-paced lifestyle of modern days. Certain groups in the society propose that the authority needs to impose the consumerism law to restrict the over-consumption of these unhealthy snacks. In my view, I strongly oppose this proposal. I believe there might be some alternatives to tackle this problem and my conviction will be explained in the following paragraphs.

To commence with, I believe it is better to utilize other substitutes in place of sugar rather than pricing up. If the price of sugar is raised, the cost of all sugar-related products such as bread, cake and even Coca-Cola would plummet as well, and it could pose a threat to low-socioeconomic status households. In lieu of sugar, sugar-free sweeteners, which are less harmful but still scrumptious, can be introduced into the dishes. Moreover, raising public awareness programs to the pernicious effect of sugar-rich junk food and liquor could acquaint the patrons with healthier and more nutritious diets and make them consume less sugary food. Besides, enforcing to pay the tax on consumerism is no use, since it is the nature of human beings that they would willingly spend their money on the things they love, no matter how the value goes up.

However, it is unavoidable that consuming an enormous amount of sweet treats may give rise to serious health consequences of diabetes or hypertension, which will eventually cause heart disease and have adverse influences on one’s daily life. With the soaring cost, it is agreeable that certain health hazards of sugar could be under the control up to some extent.

To sum up, the practice of consuming sugary items has been in demand and threatens the health of the community from day to day. Nonetheless, instead of raising the prices up, I believe that other practical countermeasures like hosting education campaigns or usage of sweeteners are more applicable to reduce the sugar consumption.