Many manufactured food and drink products contain high level of sugars which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that the price of sugary products should be increased due to their effect on customers’ health. While I agree that overuse of sugary products causes health problems, increasing the price of them may produce adverse consequences.

On the one hand, I believe that sugary products cause health problems. There are numerous evidences that people who takes high sugar food and drinks possibly suffer from a range of health issues, such as obesity, because the calories from those products cannot be reduced by daily activity. For instance, children who usually use soft drinks like coke day by day have to face with weight problem because of redundant calories. Furthermore, the scientists warn that if sugar in the blood is increased quickly, it might cause a negative effect on emotions. In other words, consuming a high level of sugar products not only produce health problems but also harm mental health.

The impact of making sugary products more expensive will harm the profit of the sugar industry. The huge income of large firms that provide famous sugary products such as Coca-Cola and Pepsi is the result of a long process of research and development that cost a large amount of money. For example, if this action happens, the number of customers, as well as the income, will be decreased strongly. The consequence not only affects the production company but also related parties who are involved in the production process for example farmers who plant and harvest sugarcane trees and retailers who distribute the products. Furthermore, it may cause a large inventory that damages directly to multiple aspects of a country from agriculture to the economy like the domino effect.

In conclusion, I believe that increasing the price of sugar products is not an effective way, people should be aware of the risks of overtaking high level of sugar food and drink.