Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

It is a well-known fact that processed foods are rich in sugar and their consumption can lead to a lot of diseases. Some people believe that hiking the price of these consumables will prompt the masses to consume less sugar. However, I disagree and believe that people will splurge on sugary stuff in spite of the price hike.

For example, scientists have demonstrated that consumption of foodstuffs rich in sugars increases the levels of dopamine in the brain. This hormone not only elevates the mood of a person but also increases their craving for sugars. Therefore, a mere hike in the price of sugar-rich consumables will not deter customers from consuming more sugar.

I also believe that the masses are unaware of the fact that processed foods are rich in sugars. Furthermore, they are ignorant of the outcomes of consuming such unhealthy foods. A recent food survey conducted among teens by the AIIMS institute, Delhi, revealed that most participants who consume junk food are at a higher risk of developing diabetes compared to the ones who occasionally eat junk.

Thus, people will continue to buy foods irrespective of their cost, if not sensitized regarding their side effects. The government should make it mandatory for junk food companies to disclose information regarding the number of calories in each food packet. The government should also run public service ads to bring home the fact that junk food consumption is bad for health.

To summarise, I disagree with the idea that increasing the price of sugary foods will prevent people from buying them. A better solution is to make them aware of the consequences of eating too much junk food.