Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists but not local people. Why is this the case and what can be done to attract more local people to visit these places?

Although museums and historical attractions are always open to everybody, not many local residents pay interest to these places. There are several causes of this trend, and some solutions should be proposed to encourage more local people to visit these destinations.

To begin with, there are some reasons why few local people decide to go to cultural and historical points. Firstly, the exhibition of museums and historical sites are not sufficient attractive to draw the attention of local people to visit them. For example, visitors coming to those places in general can only see old artifacts and antiques, which easily makes them feel bored. Also children have to read or listen to too much educational content rather than to enjoy any other interesting experience that they cannot have at school. Nevertheless, those places are still visited by other visitors since those travelers can broaden their horizons by witnessing historical proofs or other exhibits which they may not find in their local sites.

Several actions can be taken to increase the number of local tourists. The first solution would be to make museums and historical places more appealing. This can be done by adding more entertainment values through the exhibition like games or interactive activities. As a result, children are more likely to go and spend time in these places. In addition, models in these places should be visually spectacular with sound, light and narrators’ voice, which can allow the viewers to follow each events in the battles clearly. The final solution is to employ professional guides to talk to visitors about detailed commentary of the exhibition. In this way, museums and historical places can serve to teach people about cultural, history, science and many other aspects of life.

In conclusion, there are some reasons why museums and historical site are less attractive to local people, and some measures could be introduced so that those stopping points can appeal to a broader audience.