Many people go to university for academic study. More people should be encouraged to do vocational training because there is a lack of qualified workers such as electricians and plumbers. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Concerning the issue of choosing a suitable studying program, it is believed that more young students should to do vocatinal training rather than study academic subjects in university due to the lack of qualified workers as electricians and plumbers. As far as I am concerned, I do partially agree with this opinion because of some following reasons.

First of all , it can be said with certainty that only vocational training can adapt to the needs of manual work in many developed countries. It is due to the fact that plumbers of electricians play an important role when new constructions are built or there are some problems with the electricity or water supplies of an existing building.

In addition to this, a subsequent factor could be because there is an existing imbalance in the economy of some countries, resulting in graduate unemployment while at the same time there is a lack of skillful manual workers. Because in some countries, too many academic graduates when less students do vocational training, it will put the government under a significant pressure in ensuring that the extra vocational should be taught parallelly with academic study.

In contrast, it is admitted that to meet the demands of professional occupations such as scientists, doctors,…, some talented students should be encouraged to study higher in university instead of doing vocational training. Moreover, if these students success in their fields they studied, they will have a chance to get higher salary and work condition than manual workers.

Taking everything into consideration, people have to weigh up in their thoughts to what extent this issue should be supported. However, the discussion are convincing enough to lead me to the conclusion that people should be careful when choosing the right studying program for them.