Some students prefer to take a gap year between high school and university, to work or to travel. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages ?

Instead of rolling in university as usual, a number of high school seniors now choose to delay tertiary education for one year to seek for job or to go on vacation. From my perspective as a student, this has its certain benefits, but pale in comparisons with drawbacks.

Deferring university enrollment can enrich students' life experiences. In the year-long break, students can travel to other regions or countries, which enforces them to learn new languages as well as accommodate themselves to an independent life style. The more places they travel, the more they gain knowledge about cultures around the world and hone practical skills. In addition, gap-year takers can attend vocational training courses, which identifies suitable career paths for them. Some high schools don't have adequate occupation guidance, so having a year-long break could be a great idea for student to cultivate relevant job skills.

On the other hand, students' confidence may be drained when they enroll in university because of intense study schedule and peer pressure. Therefore, they may lose momentum in studying and fall behind. Gap-year takers can also find it difficult to resume pursuing college, as they took a too long break from studying. In addition, youngsters who decide to seek for jobs instead of embarking on higher education right away are unlikely to save up much money or hone much relevant job skills. The reason for this is high school leavers may only be hired to do entry-level jobs, such as table waiters, baristas in cafes and milk tea shops or hourly tutor. These jobs neither charge students good levels of salary, nor teach them any substantive and practical skills.

In a nutshell, I am convinced that the benefits of delaying university enrollment for one year pale in comparisons with the drawbacks.