It has been suggested that primary children should learn how to grow vegetables and keep animals. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Elementary school students are recommended to learn gardening and looking after animals. Even though this issue seems more beneficial to some extent, I would argue that this has more significant advantages which I will elaborate in the ensuing paragraph.

On the one side, in my viewpoint, there is a chance of disappointment when children start gardening in their own way. If the plants failed to thrive, they would blame themselves for not being able to maintain their floras. A psychological study revealed that the feeling of failure will reduce social and intrinsic values toward green space , thus, primary children might hardly experience a calm and peaceful sense with nature. Furthermore, being surrounded by animals can spread viruses which lead to illness due to early life adaptive immune systems and lack of understanding animal behaviour. Considering health concerns, pets might not only deliver intestinal parasites prompting diarrhea but also animal dander triggers asthma symptoms.

On the other side, this issue has more substantial benefits in which growing herbs likely foster young school-age children to live healthier by implementing green living. Along with applying hands-on approach, young children have a deeper understanding of daily food nutrition. Moreover, from emotional connection with their pets, children learn how to care for others, such as appreciating and expressing affection in a positive way. Being respectful to other living creatures, children have excellent social skills such as sympathy and empathy which possibly avoid aggressive and angry impulses in developmental stages.

To sum up, it seems to me that establishing a habit of planting vegetables and caring for pets brings more significant benefits in the early life stage. Those include children living with healthy eating habits and developing emotional intelligence.