Many offenders commit more crimes after serving the first punishment. Why is this happening, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

Currently, it is widely acknowledged that many criminals tend to reoffend after serving the first punishment. In this essay, some main causes will be discussed, as well as some proposed solutions.

The first, and perhaps most significant cause of the trend that most first-time offenders commit more crimes again is a criminal record makes finding a job more difficult. Indeed, there are many companies that do not employ those who have criminals. As a result, the offenders who have been released would not earn enough money to make ends meet and they are likely to choose to offend again. Another prime culprit is the lack of rehabilitation during the imprisonment period. An example of this is prisoners just have to do some basic tasks such as planting trees, doing exercises and so on, and there is no hard punishment for them whilst in prison. If offenders are not trained about moral behaviors and obligations, and the punishment is not deterrent enough, then they will commit more crimes after being released from prison.

Despite the aforementioned problems being serious, they are not insurmountable. One solution which may have a beneficial effect is that the government could introduce a law that employees who have criminal records are acceptable in some positions in a company. Beside that, prisoners should be given a chance to learn new skills which are useful for their future. Some academic courses such as finance, marketing should be opened in the prison in order to ensure that offenders could find a job after imprisonment. Another plausible solution would be to have heavier penalties for those who offend. Apart from imprisonment, offenders should be fined a large amount of money for their crime. If these remedies could be applied, the crime rate after serving the first punishment may be decreased noticeably.

As can be seen above, it is clear that the problems are serious, but there are some compelling solutions which could potentially address the issue.