Many offenders commit more crimes after serving the first punishment. Why is this happening, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

It is true that criminals commit crime again after they have been punished. While there are several reasons for this alarming trend, some effective measures can be taken by government to tackle this problem.

First of all, offenders become fearless once they commit offence in the light of fact that this action requires guts. If an individual becomes courageous enough to execute such fearless act probability of committing another one increases certainly. One of the reason for this situation is the company they live in. Criminals are locked in prison and it's obvious that they become friends due to identical mentality. During their tenure in jail they tend to share information with each other about how they planned and performed a crime. This influences the others carry out the same or plan other crimes with inmates. Another possibility of executing a misdeed is the means of earning money. People who are poor and uneducated lack skills to maintain. Also it is difficult to find job with criminal record as no one would hire an ex-convict to spoil the firm's reputation.

However, there are certain strategies to counter theis problem. Instead of focusing on punishment the government should focus on enhancing the mind-set changes necessary for an offender to develop commendable personality. For juveniles, therapy sessions should be introduced. With proper guidance and motivation their mind-set could be changed as kids are more vulnerable to problems of choosing erroneous path. In case of adults, vocational training should be implemented which prepares them for life outside prison. They can learn practical skills such as computer programming, car maintenance or cooking. In this way they can be hired for jobs that require this certain knowledge and skills.

To summarise, it is evident that re-offenders are one of the problems in our community but it can be resolved by focusing on rehabilitation rather than punishment itself.