Government invest in the visual arts, the kind you commonly see in art galleries, is a waste of money. Governments must invest this money in public services. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

During past few decades, governments spend money on both art visual arts as well as on projects to improve the quality of life of people. While, I agree that spending on public works for ensuring the standard of quality of life is the prime duty of governments, I do not think allocating money for visual arts is the wastage of money. The essay will discuss this issue using examples to support arguments and demonstrate points.

On the one hand, building infrastructures, roads, schools, hospitals are essential for the safety of the people, which requires spending a numerous amount of money by governments. Full-filling the basic needs is essential for the development and it determines the quality of life that most citizens have. For example, a recent study conducted by Education Today shows that the countries, which spend more money on education sector, have a population that is higher in literacy, by 65%, compared to those countries, which allocate no money to education. Therefore, it is apparent that spending on public services is of great importance for a government.

However, it does not mean that the government should not allocate fund for visual arts. The arts also have a considerable impact on our happiness. For instance, the result of contemporary research of World Health Organization shows that these people who go to art galleries at least once in a month are happier, by 20% than these people who do not visit art galleries. From this example, it is clear that art is also essential for the well-being of people.

To conclude, although the principal responsibility of a government is to provide all the public services to it’s citizen, it is also important to allocate a proportion of it’s budget for the development of visual arts. In the future, government should take initiatives to make a balance for budgeting both.