These days, a great number of children prefer spending time on computer games rather than on sports. Why is it a negative or positive development?

Technology has become an integral part of our lives, giving children access to many things including computer games. Recent days, many children would prefer computer games rather than sports. Besides positive aspects, this trend leads to several negative consequences.

To begin with, the major reason for which children prefer computer games is that there is a scarcity of space. Most of land, especially in cities, is used for building houses and infrastructure. Having no space, children have nothing to do but get regular access to technological devices which are convenient and available in their home. In that case, computer games are the most easiest way for them to entertain. Therefore, they are spending more time on this kind of entertainment rather than on outdoor activities.

As a result, the overuse of technological entertainment brings a lot of negative effects to children's life and health. Not only does spending too much time in front of the screen make the child become passive and lazy, it can also be addictive. If a child is tempted to computer games, he will always be sitting with the device, which leads to lack of exercise and eye problems in the long term. Moreover, playing too much creates obstacles to a child's ability of socializing as he is not spending time communicating with other kids.

In conclusion, whether playing computer games is a positive or negative development depends on each user. Unless children know how to organize a balanced amount of time for games, this kind of entertainment will bring only unfavourable effects.