In many parts of the world today there is a profitable market for products which lighten or whiten people’s skin.

Outline the reasons for using such products and discuss what effects they have in terms of health and society.

In the present days, there is a beneficial trade for skin lightening or whitening products in different places of the world. In this essay the several causes of this problem will be discussed considering the effects in the health of the human as well as in the society they live.

The main cause of trending such skin brightening products is the society which consider white skin tone as fair. People are just social being who wants themselves to be more considered and liked by the society; so they want to try everything they can for this reason. By the way of illustration, we can notice that there are more number of likes in the facebook pictures of a white girl in compare to that of warm and black skinned people. The another reason is the deceptive advertisements by the companies doing business of such products. They hire an actor or actress with huge fan following and mislead about the results of getting white skin which provokes the fans to get attracted to these products and buy them eventually. For instance, there is a popular advertisement of beauty product for men titled “fair and handsome” in which the Bollywood superstar Shah Rukh Khan suggest the men to glow their skin using the cream so that women will be easily attracted to them.

Such items have a direct affect on health, specially the skin of the person using it. Different type of skin allergies, pimples and other skin diseases can appear in such skin which make the result just opposite of the expectations. My cousin was fond of using these products but I never applied anything like that. She has got several pimples on her face which has made her uglier. Now people appreciates my clear and naturally clean skin over her skin. Moreover, these products directly or indirectly affects the economy of the society. People try other products to get rid of the side effect of the beauty products they previously used. To regain the smooth health condition of their skin they need to care it more. For this, they try to buy medicines and other items. Some have to take appointment of the doctor. This causes a loss of a lot of time and money.

To recapitulate, there are several reasons behind the beneficial market of beauty products. Also, there are effects of these products on society and health.