In many parts of the world today there is a profitable market for products which lighten or whiten people’s skin.

Outline the reasons for using such products and discuss what effects they have in terms of health and society.

Today, in many countries, particularly places like Asia, more and more skincare products that make the skin become brighter gain in popularity, and provide huge profits for the companies involved in their sale. This essay will examine several possible reasons behind this trend and the effects this may have on people’s health and on society.

It can be conducive to understanding why there are more and more affordable skin products appearing on the market. The first principle reason is that today the perception of beauty standards has changed over the years due to the trend of appreciation among the youth. Therefore, consumers have a tendency to use products that make their skin become lighter. To give an example, consumers, especially teenagers have a desire for the “Western” look. As a result, they choose plastic surgery with the purpose of creating an attractive appearance, and certainly white skin is a part of this. Furthermore, the media plays an indispensable role in our daily life, thereby somehow having a negative impact on the cognition of consumers. It is apparent that ads related to physical appearance are frequently on air through various social media platforms, such as Facebook with posts, and TikTok with viral videos, showing people with white skin as more attractive and successful.

Having said that, we cannot deny that people have confidence in white skin, these items may bring detrimental effects on our health, and far beyond society. Regarding health, it is not hard to witness there is a plethora of skin-whitening products of unknown origin that appear on the competitive market with unbelievable prices. These ads grab the attention of public with the insurance of short-term effects. Consequently, their skin is being harmed permanently as some products bought over the counter have prescription-strength ingredients, even though fake products. For instance, some contain steroids or toxics may severely damage the skin and other parts of the body. In terms of society, in long run, such behavior perpetuates the belief that “white” is better than “dark” skin, and white residents will receive much more social benefits than others. Thus, those with darker skin may experience serious discrimination, and even worse gen Z can be suffered insult judgments, which may influence on their holistic development of them.

In conclusion, people who use whitening products, usually through social media, are portrayed as more desirable. However, steps should be taken to tackle this issue as the drawbacks of this are clear, with potential dangerous consequences for people’s future health and society as a whole.