Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that we are increasingly surrounded by all kinds of advertisements that want to sell us target products. To some extent, I agree that advertising can manipulate consumers into purchasing the advertised merchandise, but I would also argue that we do need most of the goods that we buy.

Advertisements can certainly tempt people to buy products that they might not otherwise want. A good example could be the mobile phone, iPhone, whose successful advertisements or popular catchy slogans can be seen in the mass media or the streets frequently. Every year a multitude of people can be seen queuing to buy the latest models, even when they already have a phone that does not need replacing. Perhaps it is the influence of marketing that leads us to make these kinds of decisions; people want to stay up with the latest fashion or to own the newest high-status device. The startlingly high sales of the iPhone seem to support this idea.

On the other hand, I believe that most people do not buy products because of the advertising alone. There are other reasonable reasons why they make these choices, and there must be some kind of need before a person makes a purchase. New versions of products almost always have improved features that buyers may want. A new car, for example, may have greatly improved safety features, or it may be more economical to run, or it may pollute less. A new phone may allow the user to communicate more quickly or effectively, thus enhancing their quality of life.

In conclusion, while advertising obviously influences our buying behaviour, I do not agree that people make decisions that go against their real needs.