many people are moving from rural areas to big cities. Why has this happened? To what extent do you think it is a good trend?

It is common that many people move from rural areas to big cities to seek for jobs and imporve their living standard. In my opinion, I firmly believe that it is not a good trend.

One possible explanation is that there are more job opportunities in big cities than that in the countryside. Most individuals living in the rural areas depend on farming to make a living, which is not well-paid and tiring, especially in developing countries such as China. By contrast, there are many job openings in the urban area since big companies prefer to settle down in cities, which attracts people to leave their poor hometown and flood into big cities to find a decent job. Employees are more likely to get a considerably high salary, which is extremely important for breadwinners to support their entire family.

Moreover, the basic infrastructure is much better in cities where people can enjoy the convenience brought by modern soceity. The government has spent large amounts of fundings in the construction of infrastructures in cities, such as water supply system. Citizens can use clean water whenever they want as long as they open the tap while many farmers who live in rural area still have to dig water by their own.

In my view, too much population in big cities can have adverse impacts on the society. With the remarkable increase of urban population, the government will face growing pressure to maintain the society stable and safe when people from all walks of life live in a relatively small area. There might be more conflicts and crimes in big cities if the government cannot take effective measures to handle social problems.