Nowadays it is quite common for people to change jobs regularly. Why does this happen and how do people prepare for job insecurity?

It is not unusual for people to change jobs regularly in these days and it is important for ordinary people to figure out the reasons and prepare for this trend.

One possible explanation is that the economy is booming and there are a large amount of job vacancies in many fields, which can give employees enough confidence to change their jobs. A prosperous economy means that nearly all industries are developing at an unprecedented speed, which contribute to a growing need for labours. For example, after China entered WTO in 2001, large amounts of foreign companies flooded into Chinese market, which attracted millions of young labours to resign their previous jobs and join the new foreign company. Morever, internet plays a critical role in this trend, which offers employees an easy access to the outside world. There are all kinds of resources on the internet, such as job opportunities and online courses, which can help people find out more chances and receive higher education. With the latest information of different companies, capable workers are more confident to seek for new jobs when they meet a glassceiling in their previous company.

Lifelong study is of great importance for anyone who wants to prepare for job insecurity as modern society is changing so fast that anyone who ignores this trend will be left behind without notice. For example, the automatic manufacturing technology has become mature and automated production line has replaced many workers who handle repetitive jobs in the factory. Employees have to keep learning new technologies and expanding their skill set in order to be ready for any coming risks and new opportunities.