Some people think that children should obey rules and do what their parents and teachers want them to do. Other people think that children controlled too much cannot deal with problems themselves in adulthood. Discuss both views and state your opinion.

Some people hold the opinion that it is benificial for children to undoubtedly follow parents’ and teachers’ orders, while others think that submissive children have limited development in the future. In my opinion, children should be taught about rules and regulations when they are young, but the restrictions should be less once they grow up.

Rules and regulations are essential for children to teach them what is right and what is wrong, especially in primary and secondary school. Childhood and adolescene are critical periods when a person’s basic value and outlook of life are formed. Hence, with proper education of principles and laws, a healthy behavioural habit can be rooted in teenagers’ heart. For example, if children are taught to obey exam rules and study hard to achieve high scores, they would probably become diligent and honest adults. Otherwise, if they are encouraged to break the rules and cheat in the exam, it is highly likely that they would indulge in taking short cuts, lying and stealing, which may lead them to jail.

On the other hand, if teenagers are controlled too much, they would probably become conservative and lose the ability to break the mould. Too many restrictions will curb the impulsion and courage for innovation, which is critical to make a breakthrough. For example, if teenagers are told to follow all the rules, they may not impose any doubts against their teachers. As a result, if they start a career as a scientific researcher, they would not dare to question the exsiting experiment results. In that case, innovations and breakthroughs are hardly created.

In my view, principles are needed when we build up young children’s basic value, but it is also important to reduce our supervisions on teenagers when they try to make a difference.