Many people are working longer hours.

Why is this happening? What problems can this cause to people?

People currently tend to pay almost all of their attention to achieve the promotion in their career path. Therefore, there is the tendency that the working hours are increased significantly. From my point of view, the higher living standard and the development of economy forced individuals to work longer times; whereas, this trend might cause several problems to personal life.

According to the reasons why citizens currently work longer hours, I believe that the bigger workload and higher living demands are the main reasons. First of all, as the considerable increase in manufacturing and economy worldwide, employees may have to work after their official shift to meet the working targets or produce enough goods. Thus, the workload is overweight immediately, which prolongs the working time. Secondly, citizens have to work harder to earn a living for paying necessities and such as water bill, renting fee or better quality of food with the intention to satisfy essential demands.

When it comes to negative effects, longer working time causes numerous mental health problems as well as less time for family. To begin with problems in mentality, the worker might be depressed after being deprived of sleep for a long time and working with higher intensity. For instance, there is the research showing that the proportion of depression in current employees increases notably in comparison with ten years ago. Furthermore, people have to consume longer time at work offices leading to decline the time they can spend to stay with their family or do favorite activities as playing sports, listening to music, etc. As the result, it affects negatively to personal life of worker.

In conclusion, many people work longer time because of the increasing living demands and bigger workload, which causes plenty of disadvantages for individual mentality and daily life. Besides, the workers should maintain the balance between working hours and personal life.