Many people believe that the appropriate age to finish school should be eighteen.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement.

Looking from an educational perspective, it is generally believed that in modern era, the young should be able to finish their education at the age of eighteen. Personally, I totally concur with this statement.

For a variety of reasons, it would be beneficial for young generations to complete their education when they turn 18. To begin with, 18-year-old people can be considered to be matured enough to take responsibility for their action. Hence, a number of people in this age group have a tendency to either follow further educational programme or pursue their career. If the school curriculum is prolonged, it would be a barrier for those who are keen on working as they have to wait for years to finally be able to unleash their potential in their career path. For instance, in Vietnam, heaps of youngsters make their decision to start their career rather than continue studying as they may hold a notion that this is the better option for them.

Apart from the abovementioned practical concerns, graduating from high school at the age of eighteen is also beneficial for young people. To explain, high school is a long learning journey that takes years for students to eventually complete the process of knowledge acquisition. As a result, longer school time can bring certain profound impact, such as stressing young learners out physically and mentally. Ultimately, allowing students to graduate when they are 18 can give them a short break so that they can make the best decision for their personal life. Taking a number of 18-year-olds in many developed countries as an example. These individuals are believed to choose to take a gap year after high school to travel because they believe this period is critical as it helps them clear their thoughts and release from the pressure.

Taking everything into consideration, this reinforces my perspective that it is advisable for young learners to graduate at the age of 18.