People are having more and more sugar-based drinks.

What are the reasons?

What are the solutions to make people drink less?

In the contemporary society, it is worth noticing that sugary products, particularly drinks, have gained more popularity over years as people have a tendency to consume these sorts of products. The following paper will be looking at the roots of this worrying situation as well as examining several approaches that can be taken to eradicate the potential problems.

For a variety of reasons, the consumption of sweetened drinks has become widely popular. The main reason is that a large number people choose to consume frizzy drinks in their meals. Due to the fact that these sweetened products can increase blood sugar levels, which then stimulate people’s appetite so that their meals can be more tasty, numerous consumers will choose beverage instead of bland water in their daily meals. Another cause for this trend is that apart from providing calories and certain nutrients, such as vitamins, sweetened drinks are also a source of energy supply, which enhance and prolong durability, particularly for athletes. Hence, those who exercise on a regular basis prefer these energy drinks as they believe that these types of products will be beneficial for their training.

Apart from the aforementioned reasons, several methods can be taken into action to discourage consumers from drinking sugary drinks. A simple solution would be propagating the detrimental impacts of sugar, including certain health-related issues, such as obesity of diabetes. Once people are aware of the harmful effects of over-consuming sugar, they may avoid consuming sugar excessively. Another approach would be encouraging people to consume sugar free products. In modern era, a number of drink manufacturers aim to produce products that contain lower level of sugar. By raising the price of traditional sugary drinks, this will shift consumer buying decision, channeling their drinking habit from conventional sweetened drinks to less-sugar drinks.

Taking everything into consideration, this reinforces my perspective that consuming sweetened drinks among consumers have been happening due to the effects of sugar, such as boosting appetite and providing energy. However, by educating people and encouraging low – sugar products, people’s consumption of sugary drinks can somehow be reduced.