Many people believe that bicycle is a healthy and environmentally friendly mode of transport. However, it is still unpopular in many countries. What are the reasons? What could be done to encourage the use of bicycles among the wider population?

Over the years cycling provides various advantaged to health, travel, and transport. It is by far one of the first modes of transport that is slowly loosing its limelight. Nowadays, cycling os considered as a hobby for kids and as a means of exercise for adults. In many countries the number of cyclers have been deteriorating due to the vast availability of other means of transport. This write-up tackles on the reasons of this phenomenon and later provides ways to encourage individuals that cycling id more beneficial.

The first use if bicycles is for travel, many places in the far-flung areas find it the most convenient means to move around. On the other hand, cycling is also known to have health benefits as it allows the cycler to pedal and work his leg muscles as well as improve ones cardiac strength. Moreover, cycling does not need any engine or fuel to make it work, which causes no pollution, thereby it is environment friendly.

However, as years passed inventions on transport vehicle grew, due to this the use of bicycles were replaced by automobiles and buses. These new modes offer a more efficient and comfortable travel experience, which bicycle cannot provide. Furthermore, bicycles rely on human strength, so in a way it makes commuting slow and connotes a long travel time. Lastly, people of today perceive cycling as a form of a hobby rather than a transport service, this is because of its popularity amongst athletes and sports enthusiasts.

There are three ways of encouraging people back to cycling. Firstly, is through promoting its health benefits, people today are health conscious, hence it is the best time to bring awareness of the good effects bicycles have. Secondly, is to make bicycles available for public use, at the same time removing other modes can force the public to opt for bicycles when moving around the vicinity, this can be applied in the city centers or towns. Finally, providing adverts on the utilization of bicycles especially on short distances, this can be an eye opener to the people that instead of using transportation that are destroying the environment, it is best to opt for an eco-friendly transport.

To sum up, the use if bicycle does not only merit humans health but also the environment. These advantages are often shoved off by the people because of the convenience and comfort of buses, cars and motorcycles bring. The government should take the lead in promoting the use of bicycles among men.