Many people believe that countries should produce food for the whole population and import as little food as possible

To what extent do you agree or disagree

Many argue that food production, for the people of a country, should be maximized and food-importing should be kept to its minimum level. I strongly disagree with this view due to their high quality and the varieties they offer.

When it comes to importing foods, it is expected to see foods with higher quality. To get them into the customers’ hands, they have already gone through different strict procedures. Foods have to be carefully selected by the buyer and then transported to a country where they go for quality check. After following the necessary protocols of the government and obeying the health control policies, it can be ensured that the best ones end up in the market. Moreover, food importers tend to bring something which can be easily sold in the market. If trade companies import and distribute low-quality foods, their reputation will be at stake and may face bankruptcy. To avoid this, they do their best to offer foods with high quality.

People also have access to more choices. The soil and climate of a certain region determine what crops can grow, making people have limited choices to choose from. In a country with semi-arid climate like Iran, it is near to impossible to grow tropical fruits such as Dragon and Papaya which are both healthy and nutritious to humans’ body. Therefore, only by means of importing such foods can be available in the market.

However, some may argue that importing foods can reduce the chances of people finding jobs. When local foods are not bought, many farmers go out of business which result in increasing unemployment rate. Nonetheless, I think bringing foods to a country, can do no harm to the employment chances since importing business can create job opportunities for transportation as well as marketing and selling these products.

In conclusion, I believe foods should be imported since they have high quality and offer more choices. And, we should not forget that importing business does not deprive people form work, but it increases job vacancies.