Universities should accept equal numbers of male and female students in every subject. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some argue that universities should offer equal chances to both men and women in every single subject. I strongly disagree with this view since it is unrealistic and neglects the merits of students.

Having the same number of students is somehow a far-fetched idea. The admission of students at a university depends heavily on the applications they receive for each course. If the officials of university preassign the number of seats in a course by gender, they would need enough applicants of each sex. In reality, one gender is somehow more drawn to certain majors, making it almost impossible to aim for equal proportions. By way of example, it is believed majors such as art and language are more popular among women than men, and if half of the class is dedicated to boys, it will be difficult to fill the class.

Furthermore, students’ talent should be considered as the main yardstick for admission not their gender. Every person is unique with their certain talents and qualifications which makes them suitable prospective students for a specific major. Therefore, universities should continually select students based on the merits they have. For instance, if a female student passes her exams with high grades and shows an outstanding performance in her major, she will definitely be a great fit in the course. So, it is certainly unfair to reject her in favour of the male counterpart only because the number of seats is divided by gender.

Although some may argue educational equality can be achieved thorough halving the proportion of each class and dedicating it to each gender, I believe this measure is near to impossible to achieve and for me the real justice in education means paying close attention to the students’ talents.