Many people believe that every individual is responsible for his/her own healthy lifestyle. others believe that governments should take care of it.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There has been much recent policy advocacy related to what the proper role of governments in healthcare should be. Although such issues have been treated with seriousness by governments, the responsibility for taking care of one’s well-being should rest largely with individuals as they are the main agents for creating healthy lifestyles.

the advocates of strong governmental intervention often indicate that healthy eating habits can be formed in early life through school policies. In many countries, the vast majority of students attend public schools and in recent years, many new diet-related policies have been implemented with the aim of curing addiction to unhealthy foods, such as decreasing the total intake of saturated fat and sugar not only in school lunches but also in the ubiquitous vending machines installed around most schools. Therefore, if such nutritional approach can be sustained, students’ wellness will likely improve, and as adults, they are more likely to eschew fast food for healthier alternatives.

Despite such clear benefits from governmental involvement, people should play a pivotal role in regulating their eating patterns. In fact, humans are always tempted by differently kinds of pleasure, and delicious yet unhealthy food has always been the strongest temptation. Therefore, it is not uncommon to see a great many persons, on diet, trying to circumvent rules so as to satisfy such basic desire. Consequently, were one to remain inactive in embracing healthy nutritional routines, no matter what steps governments would take could effect positive changes. For example, even a country, such as France, which has imposed strict regulations over food that children are served is still facing an obesity crisis. Hence it is people’s active engagement in developing a dietary discipline can help consistently combat poor health.

In conclusion, although governmental involvement in the introduction of food-related polices can generally improve people’s fitness, to make such enhancement last, it is imperative for individuals to proactively adopt a balanced diet.