Many people believe that scientific research should be carried out and controlled by the governments rather than private companies. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion.

Many people believe that scientific research should be conducted under the supervision of lawmakers and not commercial enterprises. There is some truth to this belief. To begin with, the restriction may lead to national safety and level playing field. In certain areas like nuclear warfare, weapons and medicine it becomes essential for governments to have a monopoly. Even such control is not without its fair share of risks. War mongering nations and power-hungry terrorists do tend to misuse or abuse such think tanks. The kind of casualties the world experiences is also heart-rending. Similarly, in sectors like pharmaceuticals innovation has always been welcome. Presently, a considerable amount of diseases haunt living beings. Reality is these numbers are only on the rise. So, any scope of progressive study that helps in preventive health care or plugging the symptoms shall be a form of blessing.

Nevertheless, the potential of collective thoughts and competition is undeniable. Private players give a wider variety of skill sets and their profit motive brings in efficiencies. Besides the subject matter experts from different parts of the planet or country is surely not a cheap affair. Furthermore, the kind of capital investment and partnerships that corporates forge or their past lessons learned from global operations are hard to reproduce or replicate. Owing to these factors, it becomes indispensable for countries to allow the free trade in this area too. But for certain sensitive areas, like the ones mentioned above, if any political party instills protectionism it is for the worst. The effect of this is a regressive nation with no advancement in key developmental areas.