Many people believe that scientific research should be carried out and controlled by governments rather than private companies. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the context that science has become one of the top-tier concerns of each nation, some argue that scientific projects should be conducted and governed by national institutions rather than private enterprises. From my perspective, both private businesses and governments must share this responsibility to bring about betterment in science.

On the one hand, I agree that national authorities should administrate all science exploration activities to ensure society’s welfare and national security. First and foremost, with a community-oriented mission, governments always prioritize citizen's benefits when researching while private companies may ignore strict standards about quality and infrastructure to save costs. To illustrate, some firms produce low-quality medicine without vigorous examination before launching to the market just to gain more profit resulting in detrimental impacts on patients' health. Secondly, if private organizations are entitled to carry out some scientific fields that directly affect national security without any government supervision, they may create opportunities for terrorists and criminals. To cite an example, a company discovering a chemical that can make biological weapons may sell it to an antisocial party posing a serious threat to society.

On the other hand, while the government should regulate scientific studies for the reasons mentioned above, I suppose that private companies are better candidates for directly conducting and investing in such research. Firstly, unlike authorities that have many aspects to take care of, independent firms often concentrate on only one or two fields, which helps to yield more auspicious results. For instance, instead of being involved in developing solar energy equipment, authorities should assign the implementation to a technology company that already has highly specialized engineers in this area which can create more successful results. Secondly, scientific research requires much money so independent corporations should share this financial burden with governments. More government money invested in scientific programs could lead to an imbalance in national expenses which negatively affect other important sectors such as education and health care.

In conclusion, many people advocate the view that governments should be the key organizers and governors of science exploration. However, I believe that it is more effective if private companies directly take part in scientific studies while the regulators supervise strictly the process to ensure social well-being and national safety.