Many people believe that scientific research should be carried out and controlled by governments rather than private companies. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the context that science has become one of the top-tier concerns of each nation, there is a school of thought holding that scientific projects should be conducted and governed by national institutions rather than private enterprises. From my perspective, I suppose that it is equally crucial for both private businesses and governments to share this responsibility to bring about betterment in science.

On the one hand, there are some reasons why national authorities should administrate all science exploration activities to ensure society’s welfare and national security. First and foremost, with a community-oriented mission, governments always prioritize citizen's benefits when researching while private companies may ignore strict standards about quality and infrastructure to save costs. To illustrate, some firms produce low-quality medicine without vigorous examination before launching to the market just to gain more profit resulting in detrimental impacts on patients' health. Secondly, if private organizations are entitled to carry out some scientific fields that directly affect national security without any government supervision, they may create opportunities for terrorists and criminals. To cite an example, a company discovering a chemical that can make biological weapons may sell it to an antisocial party posing a serious threat to society.

On the other hand, while the government should regulate scientific studies for the reasons mentioned above, private companies are better candidates for directly conducting and investing in such research. Firstly, unlike authorities that have many aspects to take care of, independent firms often concentrate on only one or two fields, which helps to yield more auspicious results. For instance, instead of being involved in developing solar energy equipment, authorities should assign the implementation to a technology company that already has highly specialized engineers in this area which can create more successful results. Secondly, scientific research requires much money to be conducted so independent corporations should share this financial burden with governments. More government money invested in scientific programs could lead to an imbalance in national spending which negatively affect other important sectors such as education and health care.

In conclusion, many people advocate the view that governments should be the key organizers and administrators of science exploration. While I partly agree with this opinion because it would ensure social well-being and national safety, I still believe that it is more effective if private companies take part in scientific studies and share costs with the authorities.