Many people believe that scientific research should be carried out and controlled by governments rather than private companies. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the context that science has become one of the top-tier concerns of each nation, a school of thought holds that scientific projects should be conducted and governed by national institutions rather than private organizations. From my perspective, I concur with this assertion as two main reasons related to budget and impacts on society will be elaborated on in this essay.

To commence with, scientific exploration should be assigned to national institutions as they outweigh private firms in terms of financial budget. Resting on stable tax income, governments can invest in high-costing scientific studies while private enterprises may suffer from financial burdens. To illustrate, executing space research not only involves a huge amount of money to invest in from facilities and equipment to training astronauts but also lasts several years and is likely to have uncertain results. Therefore, if private companies take responsibility for research activities, they may suffer from bankruptcy when such projects fail. In contrast, regulatory organizations can cover this loss with a national budget.

In addition, other aspects worth mentioning are the safety and welfare of citizens to prove that scientific studies should undergo vigorous administration by national authorities instead of private enterprises. First and foremost, with the community-oriented mission, no one but governments always prioritize their citizens’ safety so scientific research is controlled quality and facilities strictly. For instance, authorities spend more money on high-standard infrastructures to minimize risks in nuclear experiments that can cause radiation leaks and affect human health detrimentally through many generations. Meanwhile, private corporations may ignore these problems, to cut down costs. Secondly, scientific achievements should serve a public purpose while private companies use them for commercial interests. For instance, medicines and other medical research should be carried out by authorities so that they become more accessible to all citizens instead of only the rich can buy them from businesses.

In conclusion, it has been argued that governments should be responsible for scientific research and I side with this opinion as this facilitates certainty in investment cost and prevents side-effects regarding safety and social benefit.