Many people choose to travel abroad to learn a foreign language instead of studying in their hometown.

Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Studying a foreign language might be a challenging process. While some learners choose to travel abroad to acquire the target language better, others select their home country as a good environment to learn. In my opinion, the latter choice is more advantageous.

It seems to be appealing and convincing to study a foreign language overseas. The ultimate goal is that learners are exposed to the language as much as possible. They would make conversations with native speakers on multiple different topics and use their own skills to fulfill purposes of such conversations. This common practice facilitates the language ability as learners’ vocabulary and grammar are regularly retrieved and utilized. Moreover, the learners’ natural reaction to the language could be accelerated in communicative settings: in many conversational turns, they do not have ample time to think, so words and sentences need constructing in an instant way to maintain the dialog, which over time helps proceed the users’ language proficiency to a higher level.

That said, it does not always mean the only way to learn a new language efficiently is to move overseas; staying in the home country for learning is indeed a more effective solution. Firstly, beginners have an opportunity to interact with many learning methods. For example, when an abstract idea cannot be comprehended by learners, it is likely to be explained in the mother tongue, which creates no obstacle in understanding. When learners mispronounce vocabulary, teachers would probably give them repetition drills. When they cannot communicate well in a team, the teachers orchestrate content-based conversations. All of them serve one purpose: to make the learners achieve a proficient level in using another language, and to give them more confidence in using their own way of expressing ideas in the target language. Secondly, it is cost-saving to learn the new language in the mother nation. Without doubt, people pay exorbitant prices for expenses before planning a trip to learn overseas, from ticket to accommodation costs. This is not an easy task and usually gives them a headache. In contrast, by staying in their countries, expenditure is no longer a great concern as payment can be reduced by many times.

In summary, finding a way to study a language effectively is a big question to many learners. As for my part, there are more benefits when learning in the country where mother tongue is the official language than going to a foreign one. However, depending on the personal budget and other factors, language practitioners can choose the method that suits their studies best.