Online communication is becoming more popular than face-to-face communication.

Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In the past decade, as the development of science and technology, the Internet and social media have had a strong connection to our lives. Especially during the pandemic, online communication has become the most popular type of communication. This trend has caused a lot of contradictory opinions. It’s true that this trend has created a lot of value but nothing compared to its drawbacks.

Antagonists believe that online communication is human most useful tools to make more buddies or getting in touch with old friends. They do have their points. A lot of people had magically found and reached out to their childhood friends or lost relatives through well-known social media such as: Facebook or Instagram. We can also connect to relatives who live far away. Online conversations have proved its worth during the pandemic. Humans are social animals, we need to make connections in order to not feel isolated. Because of the undeniable spread of the Coronavirus, we can not hang out with our friends, or have any real-life conversations. So through social media, we can still send texts and video calls to our friends. Those actions have huge advantages on our mental health.

Despite its benefits, online communication also has many weaknesses. We all like to associate with cool friends. That is the reason why people tend to put on their best behaviors on social media which makes online connections feel like a catfish game that doesn’t build deep friendship. Firstly, we don’t know how our online friends really are, which is the cause of many problems. Many frauds will use online communication as a tool to get close to us and gain advantages for themselves. For example, trick us into joining bad-influence communities, or fool us into spilling out our personal information. Secondly, we only see others through their profile. That’s why many people try to make their images as glorious as possible. These days, just by strolling through Facebook or Instagram feeds make us feel not worthy. We tend to compare ourselves with the others, causing a huge self-doubt, peer pressure on our shoulders, which poisoned our mental health.

To conclude, we can’t deny all the benefits that online communication has brought to us, but nothing truly compares to real-life connections.