Many people decide on a career path early in their lives and keep to it. This, they argue, leads to a more satisfying working life. To what extent do you agree with this view? What other things can people do in order to have a satisfying working life?

It is true that the large proportion of people determine (choose) a profession they want to pursue from early age, and they are content with the same career for the rest of life. While I agree that this may suit many people, I believe that others may enjoy changing career and seeking job satisfaction in different ways.

On the one hand, I agree with the idea that having a defined career path will help people to have a good preparation as soon as in high school and facilitate the progress towards their goal. This means that they will know earlier at which subjects needed to excel, and even more develop required characteristics. If, for example, a student desires for becoming a lawyer, he or she should boost his or her confidence to speak in public and enhance reading skills, while studying at high school. When deciding on working at the same career to which people would devote their time and effort; as a result, such individuals will sooner gain (earn/ get) preferment and success than others will.

On the other hand, I believe that there are differing ways to achieve job satisfaction. Firstly, changing career is more likely to give people reinvigorating experiences, which helps them understand their strengths and their truly ambitions. Secondly, high compensation would be one of key motivators for some people. In fact, it seems more likely that money can satisfy the need for personal hobbies such as travel or fashion. Finally, good working condition can be considered as an important factor for some employees to stay with a job. The working atmosphere which is contributed by a supportive manager and enthusiastic colleagues will motivate and inspire them to go to the office.

In conclusion, although I support the view that it can be certainly be satisfying to pursue a particular career for the whole of one’s life, I believe that many people will have their own ways to find fulfilment in their working lives.