Genetic engineering is an important issue in society today. Some people think that it will improve people’s lives in many ways. Others feel that it may be a threat to life on earth. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In modern days, scientists are exerting genetic manipulation to serve our agriculture, which becomes bitter controversy among people. Meanwhile, it is true to say that this feat of science is likely to be considered beneficial for our life, some people opposed to this view.

Generally, it is alleged that gene engineering has a significant impact on agricultural revolution. Because of the indiscrimination of potent chemicals, which the harmful pests are developing resistance to. This, therefore, has proved to be counter productive and posed a threat to human health and environment. Clearly, genetic manipulation appears to be a substantially favourable strategy. As a matter of fact, genetic modification can help grow plants that produce poison to obnoxious pests. So that besides boosting crop yield with new method, the farmers now can reduce the risk of suffering chronic diseases and environmental pollution as well as improve the quality of their produce. Undoubtedly, gene modification will lead to an agricultural revolution and bring more benefits to human life.

Conversely, it cannot be denied that changing gene may have unpredictable repercussion on human life. In particular, food which is applied genetic engineering not only probably causes serious disorders on human health such as cancer, allergic reaction but also creates new diseases in people. Additionally, the insects are likely to rapidly become immune to the new genetic manipulated crop, which can have a devastating effect on all manners of life. For instance, if the pests develop resistance to the novel crops, food supplier can not afford to feed the population; as a result, this will contribute to the food shortage, epidemic and global crisis.

In sum, genetic modification has sparked vigorous debate among people. In fact, there are both advantages and disadvantages of the manipulation. It is my firm believe that before the widespread appliance of changing gene on which we should attempt to conduct more researches to provide safe and healthy meals to our citizens.